May Birchbox Review

I received my May Birchbox early this month.  I have really enjoyed all of the boxes I have got so far, but this one unfortunately, left a little to be desired.  I was not disappointed in the products themselves, but the amount.  I’ll explain as I go.  Here’s what I got…

1.  Dr. Jart/ Waterfuse BB Cream:  So this might as well of not even been in the box.  There was seriously enough for about 1/2 of an application and I had such a hard time of getting it out of the tube when I finally did I lost most of it to the kitchen counter.  I wish I could give a better review of the product, but I didn’t really get the full effect.   It is a tinted moisturizer, sunscreen, and serum all in one.

2.  Color Club Nailpolish Disco Nap:  This is a fun gold color.  It went on really well.  I usually don’t stray from OPI too often, but i was impressed with the consistency of this polish.

3.  Kerastase/ Cristalliste Lumiere Liquide:  I got excited when I saw Kerastase!  I have been a fan of this line for a long time, and even as a professional hairstylist I cannot get discounts on this brand.  So anything I can sample is exciting!  Actually this product was the saving grace for the box.  It is a shine-enhancing serum that has a light scent and is extremely lightweight.  I was surprised at how much the product spread.  A little bit goes a long way.  It was nice, but in the world of oils, nothing compares to Moroccan Oil.

4.  Stila/ Sparkle Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner:  This was also a fun surprise.  This liquid eyeliner is a bright royal blue color with sparkles.  It looked really cool with my green eyes.  I did have to do a couple of applications to get the intensity of the color just right.  I even tested the “waterproofness” of it, and to my surprise even the sparkle stayed on.  I love Stila makeup, so I am not surprised I like this eyeliner as much as I do.

I also got a few “extras”:  A Kerastase shampoo and conditioner sample, and a cute notecard to send a letter to someone.  You know a real letter with a stamp and everything.  I think I’ll send it to my friend Melissa in New York.  :)

