Lash Extensions vs. Lash Enhancers

It seems that there has been quite a boost in the lash industry over the past few years. With the introduction of lash growing products to the popular eyelash extensions, you can say goodbye to those flimsy and hard to apply false lashes.
I think that most women long for lush eyelashes at some point whether she admits to it or not. Luckily, now that this industry has been on the up and up for some time, there are plenty of affordable solutions to eyelash vanity.

lashes
A few years ago while working at a day spa, I was introduced to a product called Marini Lash. It supports the growth of longer and thicker lashes and makes a noticeable difference.  Like anything, you have to use it consistently to see the best results.  I would use it morning and night (I believe the directions say to use 1 time a day) after I cleansed and moisturized my face. It goes on just like a liquid eyeliner.  You only need to use it on your top lid.  After about 2 weeks of use I began to see results.  My eyelashes were thicker, darker, and longer. For about $150, you can get a one year supply.  I have heard of other brands like RevitaLash, and Latisse, but I have not used them. Clients and friends tell me that they do work, so I’ll take their word for it.  I have not been using an eyelash enhancer in some time.
A few months ago I was planning a trip to Hawaii and desperately wanted some eyelash extensions. I have a friend that does this for a living and she agreed to do them for me. She warned me before hand that I was going to love them, and she was completely right. After about an hour and a half I had semi-dramatic, full eyelashes.  I was hooked.   A full set of lashes would normally cost someone around the $299 price range. (She was incredibly sweet and only charged me a fraction of the regular price) Yikes!  She suggested that I come in every 2 weeks to get a “fill,” which would normally cost $50.  So already you would be at $350 on lashes for the first month, and then $100/month after that.  Clearly, that wont work on most people’s budget.(About $1400 annually) But, I have to say that I love them!!  I kept up with them for about 4 months, and then finally decided it was a pain to have to get them filled, and even though I was getting a big discount it seemed a little silly to be spending so much money on my lashes.  At first, after I took them off my natural eyelashes were really short and stubby.  It’s been about a month and a half and they are finally growing back to a decent length.
So which one do I suggest? If money is no object, or you can easily spend this money on your eyelashes go for it. If you are on a little bit more of a budget I suggest trying an eyelash enhancer. I’ve heard great reviews about Revitalash so I’m going to give it a try soon. I’ll be doing a follow-up post with pictures to show my progress with this product. Which eyelash enhancers do you like or have you tried?

