Do You No Poo?

So recently one of my best friends posted something on Facebook about going “no poo.” I had never heard this term before and assumed that she was telling the world about some body cleanse or something. After checking it out, I was elated to find that she was talking about using no shampoo. Again, being a professional hairstylist my curiosity was sparked and I stared doing some research about the “no poo” movement.

That was two weeks ago. During week one I was thinking that all of these people were crazy, and probably really stinky. Completely turned off. Over the weekend I saw my friend, and to my surprise she didn’t smell at all, and her hair looked really good. So again I stared reading all of your fabulous blogs on the subject and have decided to give this a try myself. This isn’t going to be easy. I love my hair products, but I love healthy hair more. If this is going to give me my dream hair, it’s worth a shot. Ehhhhh….what am I going to do without my Bumble and bumble shampoo, or my Moroccan oil?! Ok, so in the name of healthy hair, and hopefully saving some money here we go!

So why would someone not want to use shampoo? It’s a little granola, right? Here are a few reasons others are trying this method.

1. Not using chemicals. Chemicals that are in shampoos and conditioners contain several ingredients linked to cancer and other ailments. Look it up. That’s a whole other post in itself.
2. Healthy hair. We’ve all heard that the natural oils on our head are the best conditioner money can’t buy.
3. Better for the environment. Again, back to the chemical thing.
4. Saving some cash. Ha! Although I am not doing this to save money, it will be nice. I’m kinda a hair snob, and only buy salon quality products. Don’t judge me I can’t help it, it’s my job!
5. Try something different. You never know till you try right? This is certainly not for everyone, and may not be for me, but I’m going to give it a go!

Ok so here’s what you’ll need:

20130115-144624.jpg

1. Baking Soda
2. 2 condiment bottles
3. Apple cider vinegar
4. Measuring cup and tablespoon
5. Water

So you’re going to mix 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar (acv) with 1 cup of water in one of the condiment bottles. (This is your “conditioner”)
Then, mix 1 tablespoon of baking soda with 1 cup water in one of the condiment bottles. (This is your “shampoo”)

This is what my hair looked like before the wash. (About 3 days dirty)

So with your bottles in hand head to the shower and wash your hair with the baking soda solution and rinse thoroughly. Finish by applying the acv rinse, and rinse out with water thoroughly. I will say it was a little weird feeling. No lather, no nice smells, and my hair wasn’t silky soft after I showered. But, it did feel clean, and it actually untangled very easily. I felt the biggest difference when I was blow drying. Normally with all of my hair potions my hands and brush just glide through my locks, but today was a little different. It pretty much just felt like I had used no conditioner, duh. Round brushing was a must since this needs to last me about 3 days….sigh. But after it was done it felt ok. Not oily or greasy, not like normal, but ok. And it looks great! I’m not going to get too excited since this is after all, day 1. But I have high hopes! (Power of positive thinking ;) Here is what my hair looked like after:

If anyone else has tried this I would love to hear from you! Tips, tricks? I’ll be updating almost daily on this hair transformation!

