Oil Cleansing Method

20130312-140332.jpg

So I’ve waited a little while to post this for two reasons. 1. I wanted to make sure I know what I’m doing. 2. I wanted to make sure that this is something I like. Turns out, I like it, and it’s pretty easy. So here it goes…
Ever heard of the oil cleansing method? I hadn’t. Until one of my clients came in for a haircut and I could not help but notice her glowing skin! I asked her what she was doing and she said oil cleansing method. Whaaa? Cleansing your skin with olive oil, avocado oil, and castor oil?? Ok so I’m going to rub this oil all over my skin and it’s not going to be a greasy mess? She suggested that I look it up, and I was on it. Turns out, oil is a great way to naturally cleanse your skin in a soap free, chemical free manner, even for oily skin. Mind=blown. So my oil cleansing adventure begins…

Disclaimer** I am a true advocate for leading a healthy lifestyle. Clear skin starts on the inside. What you put in your body, directly reflects in your face and hair. So if you’re eating McDonalds and Taco Bell all day, your skin will show, not to mention your waistline. When it comes to great skin and hair think clean. Fresh produce, lean meats, fish, vitamins, and lots of water. When it comes to grocery shopping a good rule of thumb is to stay on the outskirts of the store. Going down the aisles you will find processed after processed food. No bueno. I could do another whole blog or 10 on clean eating, but you get the idea. Oh yeah, and get your booty to the gym! Exercise plays into that whole healthy lifestyle thing…sweat so good!

Ok, so here’s how it works. You will need:
1. A bottle or something to keep your oil facial mixture in. (Travel size shampoo bottles work great)
2. Olive oil
3. Castor oil
4. Washcloth
5. Other oils of your choice. (Avocado, sunflower, etc) *optional

The basic mixture is 80% olive oil to 20% castor oil.
I use -40% avocado oil
-40% extra virgin olive oil
-20% castor oil
I suggest doing your own research on mixing ratios as is can vary based on your skin type.

1. Wet your face with warm water.
2. Use a quarter size amount of oil and rub in your hands to warm.
3. Rub in a circular motion for a couple of minutes.
4. Wet washcloth in as hot of water as you can stand and hold up to face to release the steam. Hold there till cool. Do this a couple more times.
5. Gently pat face dry with dry towel.
6. You’re oil cleansed!

It’s so easy, I’m still perfecting the oil ratios, but I absolutely love it. It will take your face a couple of weeks to get used to this, but it will be worth it. I’ve been doing it about 2 months now, and I love! Also, don’t switch in between a regular face wash and this. It will freak your skin out, and you’ll notice how a soap based cleanser doesn’t feel quite so good. Here are a couple of good articles on this method. I hope you enjoy and good luck! Feel free to leave questions or comments about your experience!

http://www.mommypotamus.com/oil-cleansing-for-clear-baby-soft-skin-video-tutorial/

http://www.theoilcleansingmethod.com/

http://dearcrissy.com/oil-cleansing-method/

